Egypt’s new government takes oath tomorrow


Egyptian national television reported on Monday that Prime Minister Ibrahim Mahlab has formed the new Egyptian government. The ministry of information will be abolished and represented by the “National Council for Media”.

The new government will be sworn in tomorrow morning in front of President Abdel-Fattah Al-Sisi.

Mahlab has retained the ministers of the interior, defence, communication, health, housing, tourism, aviation, petroleum and social solidarity.

Hossam Al-Qawiesh, the Council of Ministers spokesman, had stated that the prime minister will meet with the new members of his government later on Monday evening.

The new appointed ministers in the reformed government are: Khaled Fahmy for the Environment, Gaber Asfour for Culture, Sameh Shoukry for Foreign Affairs, Ashraf Salman for Investment, Sayed Abdel-Khalek for Higher Education, Sherif Hammad for Scientific Research, Hany Dahy for Transportation, Hany Al-Hindawi for Transitional Justice, Hossam Al-Moghazi for Irrigation and Land Reclamation.

The new government will also include an innovated ministry for shanty towns headed by Laila Iskandar.

Mahlab, the last prime minister under former president Adli Mansour was redirected to form the new government after presenting the resignation of his cabinet to the president last week.