World Cup final, a repeat of 1986 or 1990? – Al-Tahrir News Network


Only a few hours separate football fans all over the world from the start of the world’s biggest game.

On Sunday, Germany and Argentina will revive memories of  the 1986 and 1990 games, as the sides face each other for a record third World Cup final in Brazil’s Maracana.

The history of the two teams head-to-head in the World Cup competition includes two World Cup finals, two quarter-finals and two group matches.

Germany has been edging since the first game in 1958, but Argentina pipped them to the trophy in 1986.

In World Cup head-to-heads, Germany is obviously ahead of Argentina, as after six games between the two teams ended in four victories for Germany, a sole win for Argentina, and a draw.

World Cup Group Stage

In 1958 in Sweden, the two teams played for the first time in World Cup history, with Germany winning a 3-1 victory, before getting fourth place in the tournament.

In the 1966 edition hosted by England, the match ended in a 0-0 draw.

Germany lost the final to the hosts 1-0.

World Cup Knock-Outs

In 2006, hosts Germany were able to qualify for the semi-final after beating Argentina in a penalty shoot-out 4-2, the original time ended with 1-1, Roberto Ayala scored the opener for Argentina, while Miroslav Klose equalised for Germany minutes before the end of the game.

After four years in South Africa 2010, the two teams played again in the same quarter-final round, with a massive 4-0. Germany kicked out their rivals, before losing in the semi-final to Italy.

The Big Games

In Mexico in 1986, the two teams played for the first time in a World Cup final.

The score was 2-2. Diego Maradona set up Jorge Burruchaga for a third goal in the 84th minute. Argentina won their second and so far last world title.

Four years later in Italy, the two teams met again in the final, this time Germany managed to snatch the trophy from the title holders, after beating them 1-0 by a penalty kick in the last minute of the game.

Lothar Matthaeus lifts the World Cup trophy after beating Argentina in 1990 final ( photo: sportsmen )

All Head to Head Statistics:

In all matches played between the two sides, both teams scored 28 goals against each other.

In all games head-to-head, Argentina has a slight advantage over Germany. Twenty games, including friendlies, resulted in nine triumphs for Argentina, six for Germany, and five draws.

The last game between the two teams was a friendly in Frankfurt in 2012, which ended with a 3-1 victory for Argentina.

World Cup 2014 Statistics:

Germany scored 17 goals in six games by eight players

Argentina scored eight goals in six games by four players

Germany conceded four goals in six games

Argentina conceded three goals in six games

Argentina did not concede any goals since the group stage

Both Germany and Argentina haven’t conceded the first goal at any of their games

Both Germany and Argentina have won five games out of six, drawn in one game

Germany has kept a clean sheet in three games out of six

Argentina has kept a clean sheet in four games out of six

Germany’s top goal scorer in the tournament is Thomas Muller with five goals

Argentina’s top goal scorer in the tournament is Lionel Messi with four goals

Germany’s attack line is the strongest in the competition, scoring 17 goals in six games

Argentina was never out-led in score at any of its six games

Gemany`s striker Miroslave Klose became the World Cup historical top goal-scorer in the 2014 edition, after scoring  his sixteenth goal in the semi final game against Brazil.

Current FIFA Rankings

Germany: 2

Argentina: 5


Argentina has played in the World Cup final four times, won in 1978 against Holland, and in 1986 against West Germany.

Argentina lost the World Cup final in 1990 to West Germany, and in 1930′s first edition to Uruguay

Germany will attempt to win its first World Cup title after unification, as all their titles were won under the flag of West Germany.

Argentina has never won the World Cup title outside the South American continent, this record will remain even if they win the 2014 competition.

Before 2014, Germany and Brazil both have played in seven World Cup finals, now Germany leads with eight World Cup final game appearances

Germany has won three World Cup finals, in 1954 against Hungary, in 1974 against Holland, and in 1990 against Argentina.

Germany has lost four finals in 1966 to England, in 1982 to Italy, in 1986 to Argentina, and in 2002 to Brazil.

The 2014 final game marks the tenth between a South American and a European team.